Discussions

News: The Future of EJBs: Are tools catching up?

1. The Future of EJBs: Are tools catching up? (87 messages)

As the EJB specification, and server implementations mature, we are finally seeing the growth of tools. A new article on TheServerSide addresses the maturity of EJB from our perspective as EJB developers, including: What development tasks we have to do, how IDE's can help, and what other tools are out there.

Read Future of EJBs: Tools are finally catching up?.

Feel free to discuss this article here.

Threaded Messages (87)

2. We just finished rolling out phase I of our first J2EE project so I speak from practical experience. We used VisualAge for Java as the Java tool and Websphere as the J2EE container.

It was *really* tough getting started. J2EE is a great platform but we spent 4 weeks just reading books and pouring over TheServerSide forums trying to "get it". It was really, really tough and I've got 18 years of development experience.

The other nasty part was dealing with the container (Websphere). Figuring out how to 1) Configure it 2) Deploy to it - just about drove us crazy.

The tools have a LONG way to go. There is just too much to figure out. I guess the problem in the nutshell is that there is no **guidance** from any of the tools about how to 1) Architect the system 2) Pull it all together.

In all other paradigms I have programmed in, there was an immediate framework and context from which to begin working in. Not so with J2EE. It's like Sun pulled up to a vacant log and dumped a mountain of lumber, nails, and woodworking equipment and then yelled as they were driving away, "Please build a house". We just didn't know where to start.

The average programmer probably would just give up.