Independent JMS Benchmarks Published

Discussions

News: Independent JMS Benchmarks Published

1. Independent JMS Benchmarks Published (10 messages)

www.jmsbenchmarks.com has published a test of several JMS servers (Sonic, MQSeries, OpenJMS, etc) and also J2EE Server Vendor JMS implementations (including BEA WebLogic's, JRun's and JBoss' JMS implementations). The comparisons were done to test compliancy, performance and reliability.

See the full story here.

Threaded Messages (10)

2. Independent JMS Benchmarks Published[ Go to top ]

Quite interesting, although seems a bit old, casting doubt on it's relevance.
    For instance they seem to have used Jboss 2.2.1 for the tests (which is well old).
    I'm no jboss expert, but I believe the MQ has been completely overhauled since then.
  3. Independent JMS Benchmarks Published[ Go to top ]

SwiftMQ has also undergone a number of revisions - in fact they are now on their 3.0 release - it would be interesting to see a comparison of more up-to-date builds.
  4. Independent JMS Benchmarks Published[ Go to top ]

Yes. I believe the new SwiftMQ 3.0 series uses the JDK1.4 native io library as well - be interesting to see how just this alone improved performance over earlier versions.
  5. Independent JMS Benchmarks Published[ Go to top ]

Well, to test java.nio you need another OS than Windows. There is a bug in 1.4 which prevents selects on more than 63 fds. Furthermore, java.nio is *slower* than blocking I/O because of the select overhead. It scales when you have +500 concurrent connections.

Some comments on this test. First, they have taken very old releases. Next, they use very poor hardware, a PIII 256 MB, W2K, everything on 1 server. LOL. For the tests: I don't find any hints whether they use persistent or non-persistent messages. And at last: Who is "Cannon Group, LLC"? No website except that jmsbenchmark.com. Coming out of the Off, publish a benchmark, and call that "World Class Award"! With a PIII 256 MB! LOL.