Discussions

EJB design: i have a doubt.

1. i have a doubt. (7 messages)

I'm new at EJB development and i'd like to know if i don't need to use DaO pattern with CMP entity beans or i can't use it, and why.
    If i use DaO pattern to access data on a table, and use CMP entity beans to update this table, i have chance of read outdated data?

Threaded Messages (7)

2. i have a doubt.[ Go to top ]

if you arae going to USE CMP u need not be bothered of retreiving or inserting data to DB.The container takes care of it.All u have to do is in the deployment descriptor map your EJB fiedl to the exact Column in DB.
  3. i have a doubt.[ Go to top ]

DAO is for BMP
  4. i have a doubt.[ Go to top ]

i know that. But i just want to know why i can't use Dao pattern for data retrieving and cmp entity bean for updates, both called from the same session bean.
  5. i have a doubt.[ Go to top ]

Maybe you mean the "Data Object pattern" (AKA "Value object pattern", "Details object pattern")?
    The Value Object pattern facilitates the use of a Java object that reflects all the entity bean's data, so that it can be retrieved in a single call (and updated in a single call). Is that what you ment? If so, yes, you can use it with CMP beans.

the DAO pattern, Data Access Object, facilitates the use of a special object that is responsible for reading/writing data from the DB (or any other resource). This pattern is meaningless in the CMP context, because with CMP you don't access the DB (or other resource) yourself.

Gal
  6. i have a doubt.[ Go to top ]

I am really talking about DaO pattern.