Discussions

News: Apache: JSR 99 Vote Locks Open Source out of Java

1. According to the Apache Group, Sun and the other major vendors have locked Open Source out of Java in a recent vote on JSR 99, the Java Specification Participation Agreement. Looking at the comments from the various vendors (submitted with their votes), Apache's stance on an open and fair licensing scheme for developing Java standards is shared by by many of the vendors.

Read Borland, Fujitsu, HP, IONA, Nokia, and Oracle voted with Sun to lock Open Source out of Java..

Read The JSR 99 Votes, which includes comments from all the vendors.</a>.

Threaded Messages (21)

2. Oh no, I must have typed in slashdot.org instead of theserverside.com... do we really have to hear another sob story about poor old open source?
  3. I'm not a legal expert, but it seems to me that Apache makes valid points, and most vendors seem to agree (maybe because that's also the "politicaly correct" thing to do). Anyway, I think its a good thing that Apache criticized the JSP, but it is also a good thing that it passed. Atleast it's a step forward, and these legal meshes tend to drag...
    Besides, further enhancements can be added during the revision stages. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if apache cast it's vote after making sure the JSR would pass, because they did put a lot of work into it, from what I understand.

Just my 0.02

Gal