Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: Problem trying to lookup Home Object

1. Problem trying to lookup Home Object (4 messages)

Hi everybody!!!
    We got a problem with JBuilder 6.0 Enterprise trying to lookup the home object.

If we make the search in this way:
        Context ctx = new InitialContext();
        Object red = ctx.lookup("Teller");
    everything works fine, but, if we use:
        Context ctx = new InitialContext();
        Object ref = ctx.lookup("java:comp/env/ejb/Teller");
    just like we saw on tutorials and samples fails with "NameNotFound" exception.

Why is the lookup different in this environment (JBuilder+BES)? If this is the right way, it´s portable to other application servers?

Thanks...
  2. have you define the environment variable in the deployment descriptor?
  3. Problem trying to lookup Home Object[ Go to top ]

Sorry for the stupid question I'm very new to this topic. Which environment variable do you mean?
  4. Problem trying to lookup Home Object[ Go to top ]

The lookup is in a JavaBen object invoked from a JSP page.
    In prior samples (with "java:comp/env/ejb/Teller" in RI of J2EE from SUN) i never have define an environment variable in the DD and everything work fine.
    What is the environment varible in DD?????

PD: sorry for my english, please :)
  5. Hi Mauro,

Your problem is not specific to JBuilder+BES, it has to do with the concept of JNDI namespaces in J2EE:

When you assemble & deploy an application you configure JNDI names for resources such as data sources, EJB Home objects, etc. The JNDI names configured for these resources are placed in a *global* JNDI space. In your code sample, the *global* JNDI name of your EJB is "Teller".