Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: virgin mind opened to the EJB philosophy

1. virgin mind opened to the EJB philosophy (3 messages)

Hi,

I'm new to java and EJB programming.
    I jave good skills in C and C++ programming but I can't figure out the philosophy of EJB.

All books state that either you don't know how to align to lines of code or that you already know what you are doing with EJB.

Is it possible for you to explain me what an EJB is, why is it better than a simple 2-tiers client/server ?
    Finnaly, why is a bean so different than a class ?

This all seems confuse to me,
    thanks for your lights,
    ionel
  2. Hi Ionel,
    I think your question is a lot more than EJB philosophy.

Your first question concerns the advantage of 3-tier systems. There's already a lot of materials stating the benifits of multi-tier systems, and I can imagine people yawning if I say that all over again here :) Multi-tier concepts are proposed long long before the appearence of EJB. The [browser]-[web server]-[database] is a three-tier architecture example, even without EJB components. If you think the seperating presentation/problem domain/data model is important, choose 3-tier designs. Using a 3-tier architecture, is is possible to implement a different client presentation or change the backend information systems without changing the underneath logical operations. Surely carefully designed 2-tier systems may have the same benifits. However I believe that in achieving such seperation, some implicit layering designs must be applied, and in fact it's a multi-tier architecture. J2EE proposes a well-defined architecture for the layering: [jsp/java applications]-[servlet/EJB/other server-side components]-[database].

So it's not really about EJB philosophy. :)