Discussions

EJB design: What are the advantages of EJB compared to Servlets

1. When we can do everything using Servlets, Why and when should,one go for EJB.
  2. I am new to j2ee but from what I have read and developed I believe that EJB's offer more advanced scalability features (object passivation/activation for beans, caching for entity (data) beans, etc). They also offer transaction & security features with out a need to program to any specific API (such as JTA). Data access can be easier using Entity Beans vs using jdbc.
    A question I would like answered is has any body out there compared the scalablilty of an application that uses stateful sesion beans versus a servlet that holds it's state in a regular java object stored in an httpSession. I would think that Session beans would scale better, but maybe they don't because of all the transaction/security overhead. Any comments from anyone?
  3. if you look at the discussion below for stateless vs helper class i found it useful

syed
  4. EJB and sevlets cannot be compared. They are altogether for different purpose. infact both servlets and ejb can coexist.
    (object passivation/activation for beans, caching for entity (data) beans, etc)
  5. I have looked at that post but I still do not see any particular answer to this question. Hari you say that the two cannot be compared. Yet both can can access client specific state, both can store persistent state, and both can perform server specific application functionality. There are those out there that have complete distributed system architectures based solely on JSP/Servlet/jdbc architecture!
    So again if anybody out there can answer these questions it would I would really apreciate it.