Just want to code Servlet, so much confusion.

Discussions

Web tier: servlets, JSP, Web frameworks: Just want to code Servlet, so much confusion.

1. Just want to code Servlet, so much confusion. (6 messages)

Hi all Java guru's,

I am a programmer moving from another programming language into the Java world. I have been reading couple of books on Java and then recently read the book on Servlets by Jason Hunter ( he seem's to be quite popular).

I swear the Java market is so complicated for a new comer to understand. So many companies with each one having there own tools/softwares and everyone talking their own lanugage.

Anyway, I want to be able to code, and test servlets on a windows 98 desktop that I have at home and I am trying to figure out what all software(s) I need to be able to do that. I have gone thru this discussion forum and got some answers but none which are clear and complete. Some give incomplete software or tool names which are not there on sun's website.

I am looking for tool(s) which are free or are evaluation copies as I will be doing this at home as a learning thing and can't afford to buy one.

Here's what I already got::

1. Java 2 SDK, Standard Edition v 1.3
    2. Forte for Java, Community Edition v1.0
    3. Microsoft Personal Webserver ( don't know what this is for !!)
    4. JRUN 3.0 with the JRE for Windows 98/95.

So please tell me if I have got the required tools and what each one is for.
    Also please tell me what else i need to be able to connect to a Microsoft Access database. Some say I need the JDBC drivers.

I was not sure if just having Java 2 SDK will let me complie my servlets, because as of now i have installed the tools 1, 2 and 3 on my machine and I was not able to find the servlets.jar and jsp.jar files, which I believe u need to code servlet's and java server pages. I am hoping that those are there in JRUN.