Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: local interfaces and limitations?

1. local interfaces and limitations? (8 messages)

Hi,

i am quite new to EJB, so dont burn me when this should sound somehow weird.

By reading floyds book on EJB patterns, i wondered where are the drawbacks of using local interfaces. If my facade session bean uses local interfaces to access entity beans, what happens if by some accident (workload) my application must scale across different app servers?

I mean, this way the interface cant be still local, cause perhaps the entity beans on the second server must be called or?

I think about a scenario where its not predictable if Entity_A (on server A) or Entity_B (on server B) will be called cause of runtime performance considerations.

can somebody clearify this?

thx for input.
    loge
  2. correction: Entity_B must read Entity_A!
    I mean the same Entity Beans on different servers.
  3. I'm new to EJB too, but I'm nearly sure that an Entity Bean can have both remote and local interfaces. So if, for example you try to access Entity Bean A on server A through local interfaces but you have runtime performance problems, you will call Entity Bean A on server B through its remote interfaces.
  4. i know that there are remoteInterfaces, they are with us for a long time i think, but the point is, when the appServer decides to delegate to a different server, what happens if i only used localInterfaces. I mean, there must be a mechanism by which there is a detection what Interface to use and when. Performance is allways a runtime issue, so a developer cant foresee this ...

Marc
  5. then try clustering
  6. Hi,

The most common pattern at the moment is to create your stateless EJBs with Remote Interface and then have them access your Entity Beans through their local interfaces.