What is an EAI server?

Discussions

XML & Web services: What is an EAI server?

1. What is an EAI server? (4 messages)

Hello,

I am new to EAI. What I know of eai server is that it provides a simulation of the 3rd party database for your application. Since a call to the 3rd party services is expensive in terms of time so we use an EAI server.
    I am not sure if this is right. Please if anyone can correct this or give me an url where I could get more info.

2. dunno if there's such a thing[ Go to top ]

EAI as u already know stands for 'Enterprise Application Integration'. When disparate applications in an enterprise are to be integrated (made to talk to each other), some sort of middleware technology is chosen (say CORBA or DCOM) as the backbone & various services/adapters are written using that technology, that talk to the disparate applications. I doubt if there's such a thing called an EAI server - simply because no one knows what one may have to integrate.

Of course there are exceptions like Tuxedo, which is a readymade framework that can be used to hook the disparate apps together. But most smaller software houses simply write their own such framework.
  3. My understanding is (fingers crossed) that its a set of components thats used in an architecture thats responsible to make the thirdparty component calls required for your application. By desiging components, that exclusively does this alone, we decouple the dependencies in a more effective way.

I also agree with Sammer in the fact that, there might not be any all pervasive readymade EAI Server, as such. It seems to me more a abstract design issue which is adapted in application arcitectures as per requirements.
    People write those plugins which are customised for the purpose.

Please, correct me, if i have gone wrong.