Can Entity Beans implement interfaces?

Discussions

EJB design: Can Entity Beans implement interfaces?

1. Can Entity Beans implement interfaces? (2 messages)

I have been studying Java for several months now for a project I may be working on. It may be a Web app using servlets, JSP pages, Session and Entity Beans. One of the designs I have come up with would call for the Entity Beans to implement an interface. With this design, a generic business method within a Session Bean can act on any one of the Entity Beans that implement this interface without knowing or caring which type of Entity Bean it is. What I haven't been able to determine from my reading is if Entity Beans can implement interfaces other than the normal bean interface.
  2. You can most definitely implement interfaces in Entity Beans in EJB 1.1. Not sure about EJB 2.0 , though.

There is a section in the book "Enterprise Javabeans 3rd Edition by Richard Monson-Haefel (O'Reilly)" page 463 under the topic "EJB 1.1 : The Business Interface Alternative" which discusses this. Pages 460 - 464 will be a good and helpful read.
  3. What do you mean by "entity bean"? The session bean would be manipulating a *remote instance* of the entity bean -- it's already an Interface, and is passed and manipulated as one.

So, an entity bean called "entity" has three objects which you write. "Entity" the interface which extends EJBObject, "EntityEJB" which doesn't even (and shouldn't) implement this interface but provides the server side execution for it, and "EntityHome" the home interface.

The session bean gets a reference to a generated remote stub object which is the implementation of the "Entity" interface.