Building a fast access read/write in memory cache

Discussions

EJB design: Building a fast access read/write in memory cache

1. Building a fast access read/write in memory cache (7 messages)

Hi,

I am new to EJB, so I apologize in advance for any disturbance.

In my current project we have to build a very fast in memory clustered cache( the cache has to be replicated in all the nodes). This cache is a read/write cache (writes are more than reads), it will be populated at startup, and then it will be updated regularly, without the need to store this data back into the database.

I am evaluating two approaches:

1. Using a singleton. I am reluctant to use this approach for the following reasons:
         a. The literature I read recommends using singleton only in domains where it will be used for "read-only".
         b. I am expecting that code will be needed to distribute the events to all the cluster's nodes, so the singletons stay synchronized.

2. Using a single instance entity bean (the find... methods always returns the same key). This bean will never store anything in the database, and it holds the cached data in a hashmap. As events are received, the hashmap will be updated. Clients will query the hashmap regularly. I feel that this approach will provide us with following benefits:

a. Method synchronization will be done by the container.
      b. May be it is easier to replicate in the cluster.

My question is: Can the entity bean used in this way? Are there any better approaches for designing read/write caches?

I would appreciate any pointers to pattern or literature that tackles this design problem.

Thanks in advance
    hassib