Caching in Entity EJBs

Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: Caching in Entity EJBs

1. Caching in Entity EJBs (5 messages)

Hi,

I'm kinda new to EJBs but have been tasked with looking into EJBs as a solution for our problem. Currently, we using ATG Dynamo as our application server and running our application on 2 app servers with 2 drps each (drps are like clusters in WebLogic). Our application is basically a search engine which returns a list of items queried from the database. As a way of limiting the number of DB queries, everytime a user searches for items, those items are place in a static Hashtable. That way other users who search for those same items don't need to do another DB lookup. The problem is that since we are implementing this cache as a static Hashtable, it is only global across each JVM or each drp (cluster). So we actually have 4 copies of this exact same Hashtable in 4 different drps. And this eats up memory fast.

Would it be possible for us to use an Entity EJB instead to implement this? Is there a way to keep data in some kind of collection object within the EJB (like a Hashtable) and have the EJB look up data in that object instead of querying the database each time? So the ejbLoad() method would load the Hashtable initially from the database. But after that, each call to ejbFindByPrimaryKey() would simply look it up in the Hashtable. The benefit of something like this is of course there is only one copy of this large Hashtable, instead of a copy in each cluster.

Is this a viable solution? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Threaded Messages (5)

2. Caching in Entity EJBs[ Go to top ]

Hey there,
    The question is two folded:
    Q1. Is it possible to use entity beans as "read only" beans,
    Q2. How do we guarantee that there is only one instance of entity bean in a cluster?