Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: Managing J2EE Project Observations and Request For Comment

1. I am a project manager for a modest enterprise. It is my observation that J2EE developers for small apps ( less than 1000 users) have low productivity.

We use WebLogic 6/7, Oracle/DB2 and JBuilder7. Assuming that my team members are top notch J2EE code jocks, it seems that CMP usage drags productivity down the drain. Tasks that take days with direct JDBC become weeks under CMP.

It seems that the learning curve is to steep for small teams (1-3 developers).

Do others observe this ?
  2. Hi,

By J2EE I assume you are talking about the learning curve/cliff associate with EJB development. I agree that for small projects EJBs are overkill and cause increased development time. This time has been decreased with tools like XDoclet and ANT but it still exists.

On a side note when the dot com bubble burst there were quite a few reports from large companies talking about the increased cost of development. From what I remember most of the issue revolved around the fact no matter what the project was EJBs were mandated.

David
  3. Well, the number of users isn't really a good metric for appropriateness of J2EE. You'd need something like project complexity. I just finished working on a project targeted at 15-20 users total, that used J2EE and used EJB, but used JDBC instead of entity beans. I can say that if we had gone with Entity beans and CMP I think things would've been quicker, but it all depends on what you are doing. If you just want to get access to domain obejcts and get persistence implemented simply, CMP is a real time saver. The alternative is to write all kinds of the exact same JDBC code for each domain object you want to persist, or to roll your own persistence framework, which is ultimately not gonna save you much time over CMP.