How can I relate my UML design diagram with J2EE........

Discussions

EJB design: How can I relate my UML design diagram with J2EE........

1. Hi All,
    Can anybody suggest me how to relate UML design/any application design with J2EE designing with respect to session facade,frontrunner,message facade,MVC or JDO etc etc????
    Thanx in advance
    Pratap
  2. Hi,
    ...maybe it's hard for me to answer to your question because i'm quite new to java world, but i'll try!
     UML is just a model language and some tools can use it to write simple (the simplest) code.
     The most advanced tools are TogetherJ or RationalRose; the simplest is JVision (according to me).
     Anyway: uml is to design, that's all!
     Reverse-engineering some classes can work, but not the opposite way.
     That's all i know/use.
    bye
  3. Hello everybody,
    To modify again the query I have asked, all that I need to know is how to make use of UML design in the context of J2EE design pattern all those I have mentioned.
    Regards,
    Pratap
  4. Not sure about where has UML standard move to these days....but certainly you can have JDO, Session Beans, Entity Beans, etc in UML stereotypes format to illustrate a J2EE pattern or simply to model your problem domain or even your persistence strategy, etc.

If I'm still not answering your question, then maybe you can obtain the book, EJB Design Pattern, authored by Floyd M. of theServerSide.com

- Simon See
  5. Hi Simon,
    I have in fact gone through that book by Floyd but did n't find anything as such regarding the perticular issue I have put forward here.

I know all those design pattern used in the industry now-a-days but hardly could able to relate all those conventioanl ways of designing a system.
    U know, the patterns like UML,RUP,OOAD all those things seem to be missing when I start thinking about J2EE design pattern.
    I dont know how do I relate or make use of my POST-ANALYSIS phase to the EJB(J2EE) design pattern.