Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: RMI over WAN anyone?

1. RMI over WAN anyone? (5 messages)

I am an architect building Call Center on WLS 5.1 (We are in processes of migrating to WLS 6.1). Currently we are debating using RMI across the ocean (India to USA). We are entertaining having a topology as follows webserver (along with web container leveraging STRUTS). So in essence calling the EJB across the ocean. There are two thought processes one to use the RMI the other to make use of webservices. The concern we have is that we are not convinced that RMI would peform on a WAN setting though we know it does fine on LAN. Any thoughts? Does anyone have experience with RMI over the WAN? Pros/Cons. We have a very agressive perfomnace requirment of 3 sec over the ocean

Ed Roman you must have some view on this one ...

Threaded Messages (5)

2. RMI over WAN anyone?[ Go to top ]

I guess it depends what kind of remote calls you are making. RMI/IIOP seems Ok if Course grained method calls in statefless session beans is used and Webservices is a better choice if integrating different systems or anticipating to do so in the future.

The get high performance in EJB you need to keep that in mid in every step of your design. I would have a concern for statefull session beans, but not sateless it sacles will.

Also use local interfaces in your entity beans and session facedes for clints to access the services. There a lot of things you can do to improve performance, read the best practice in EJB at javasoft.
  3. RMI over WAN anyone?[ Go to top ]

Correction:
    I guess it depends what kind of remote calls you are making, RMI/IIOP seems Ok if course grained stateless session beans method calls is used and Webservices is a better choice if integrating different systems or anticipating to do so in the future.