CONTENT MODERATION - PLEASE!

Discussions

TSS feedback: CONTENT MODERATION - PLEASE!

1. CONTENT MODERATION - PLEASE! (15 messages)

I have been using this site for a little over 2 years (I think!) and I have to say that the quality of the posts has degraded rapidly over that time.

When I first started using the site, you didn't see the same question posted 5 times to the site (OK, there was less people, less topics and therefore less chance for repetition.)

Also, you didn't see vitually every thread reduced to a slanging match between people who not only can't agree to disagree, but who behave like children in their comments to each other.

I would very much like to see two big changes in TSS.

1) Moderate conversations. If you started a thread, then you should have the ability to moderate it. You should _not_ be able to delete other peoples post (free speech is the goal, fud is the inevitable risk of said goal.) However, you should be able to mark that post as "off my originally posted topic." Everyone should be able to revise their own posts (so long as no one has replied to them. To let them edit after reply would be to potentially remove the content someone refers to in their reply.) The threads should be filterable by those browsing so as to either sort the off topic posts to the bottom, or to ommit them altogether. When posting a message, you should be given a drop down of topics on which the thread could comment (E.g. EJB, J2EE, Web services etc.) It should be a little more granular than the current forums in the discussions thread, but not too granular or it gets too cumbersome for people. Lastly. Content could be moderated by a rating system similar to AOL's warning level, or ebays feedback system, with an iconic representation of someones community rating. We should then be allowed to filter our searches based on people's rating. There are certain people who are just here to be inflamatory and I'd love to be able to filter them out!