Discussions

Web tier: servlets, JSP, Web frameworks: Servlets to EJB communications

1. Servlets to EJB communications (1 messages)

Hi,

Bear with me here. I am rather new to servlets and EJBs so I am pretty confused at the moment.

First, let me say that I am posting here because I haven't found any thread that could answer my questions.

Ok..
    I am trying to build an architecture as such:
    - client sends request to servlet
    - servlet decides which EJB(s) to service
      request and forwards the request to
      that EJB
    - EJB processes and sends response back to
      servlet
    - servlet returns response via JSP
      Note: servlet may collate response from
            2 or 3 EJBs before it returns the
            response to the client

Questions:
    1) Does the architecture that I described
       sound feasible?
    2) I am having trouble trying to forward
       the request from the servlet to the EJB.
       As I understand, this process may be
       helped by using embedding the EJBs into
       another JSP page. Am I correct? Are
       there any other ways of accomplishing
       this?
    3) One way that I thought which may be
       possible to solve this problem is :
       - use the servlet to choose the EJBs
       - embed the chosen EJBs into various
         frames in a JSP page
       Does this look like a more correct way
       to implement what I am trying to do?

Please help, I am very confused.

Thanks in advance,
    Edmund
  2. Servlets to EJB communications[ Go to top ]

Your proposed use of a Servlet for taking the request, EJBs for doing the heavy work, and (back in the Servlet) selecting a JSP to present the view to the user is what I prefer to do. It looks like one design Sun recommends in their J2EE "Blueprints", which you can download from http://java.sun.com/j2ee/blueprints.

IBM has a similar design, although they don't talk about EJB. Check it out at
    http://www-4.ibm.com/software/ebusiness/pm.html