Issues that need to be addressed in J2EE sw quality/testing

Discussions

EJB design: Issues that need to be addressed in J2EE sw quality/testing

1. I'm currently looking for a problem in the J2EE software world that needs to be addressed from the quality/testing perspective. This would be my master's thesis topic, which means that I would contribute six to eight months of my time to this topic after which I would publish the result to the problem in addition to the tools developed along the way. The types of problems that I'm looking for are ones that are non-trivial and so far have not been (fully) addressed (example: full testing automation of EJB components). I’m a software engineering with a lot of experience in OO/Java and issues in software quality, unfortunately I have very little experience with web app software – thus I need suggestions for a good thesis topic. In return for a good problem I would post the full results of my research to this site upon completion.

Thanks,
    W. Dzidek
    wdzidek at sce dot carleton dot ca.AAA (the last four characters are not part of my e-mail address, just an anti-spam tactic)

Threaded Messages (2)

2. We already do EJB Unit testing[ Go to top ]

EJB unit testing is one area my employer has already addressed - we just haven't explicitly marketed our product as being for EJB unit testing. We were getting driven insane(er?) by the amount of effort it took just to run and test EJB and web apps, so we created a development environment called Glider that includes an EJB simulator (so it's super fast to run/test code - very little configuration, easy debugging, etc). However, you can also run the EJB container simulator using any IDE or even in an Ant script - it's just a matter of making sure the appropriate JAR is in the classpath. We do this all the time for regression testing of Glider's EJB container simulator. You can find out more about Glider here: http://www.ensemble-systems.com/glideroverview.html.