Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: CMR - ejbCreate foreign key constraint NOT NULL problem

1. I am new to CMR in EJB2.0 and am having problems trying to create dependent entity beans with foreign key not null constraints.

Removing constraint in database is not an option, nor is removing NOT NULL tag on the foreign keys, as there are other applications that will access these tables and the database admin does not want to relax the integrity of the relationships.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Details follow:

1. I have a RFQ entity bean that has a 1-N uni-direction relationship with RFQProduct entity bean.
    a. RFQ – primary key rfq_id.
    b. RFQProduct – compound keys - rfq_id_fk (foreign key from RFQ) and product_id. There is a foreign key constraint of NOT NULL set on rfq_id_fk.
    2. I have a web page that takes in a rfq and 2 rfqproducts details. What are the steps for successfully creating a rfq entry and 2 rfqProduct entries?
    3. Environment - I am using weblogic 8.1, xdoclet 1.1 and ant 1.5 – SQL Server 2000.
    4. In the RFQBean (Entity Bean)
    public String ejbCreate(RFQVO newRFQ) throws CreateException
    {
    p("ejbCreate() - start");

this.setRfqId(newRFQ.getRfqId());
    this.setRfqName(newRFQ.getRfqName());
    this.setOrganizationName(newRFQ.getOrganizationName());
    this.setRfqDate(newRFQ.getRfqDate());
    this.setCreator(newRFQ.getCreator());
    this.setSubmissionDate(newRFQ.getSubmissionDate());
    this.setStatus(newRFQ.getStatus());

p("ejbCreate() - end");
    // EJB 2.0 spec says return null for CMP ejbCreate methods.
    return null;
    }
    public void ejbPostCreate(RFQVO newRFQ) throws CreateException
    {
    p("ejbPostCreate() - end");
    }
    /**
    * Returns a collection of related eaisc.interfaces.RFQProductLocal
    * @return a collection of related eaisc.interfaces.RFQProductLocal
    * @ejb.interface-method
    * view-type="local"
    * @ejb.value-object