Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: Problem with looking up local interfaces in WebSphere 5.1

1. Problem with looking up local interfaces in WebSphere 5.1 (15 messages)

I am very new to WebSphere and I have ported my JBoss application to WebSphere 5.1. Currently I only have one Stateless Session EJB deployed.

I have registerd the JNDI name of the remote bean as: ejb/ProductFactory with WebSphere.

First, the JNDI naming service finds the remote home interface just fine when I do:
    Object objref = context.lookup("ejb/ProductFactory");
    ProductFactoryHome home = (ProductFactoryHome) PortableRemoteObject.narrow(objref, ProductFactoryHome.class);
    factory = (ProductFactory) home.create();

...but, I get an error:
    java.lang.ClassCastException: cannot cast class com.ibm.ejs.container._EJSWrapper_Stub to interface com.forisent.framework.productManager.store.ProductFactoryHome.

ProductFactoryHome being my remote home interface.

I am using WebSphere studio and I am forced to generate RMIC code before anything will deploy. This creates a bunch of duplicate classes in my path with my session bean's name and a bunch of tacked on number. (confused)

Then, when I try to access the local home interface:
    ProductFactoryLocalHome home = (ProductFactoryLocalHome) context.lookup("ejb/ProductFactoryLocalHome");
    factory = (ProductFactoryLocal) home.create();

... and keep getting JNDI name not found exceptions:
    javax.naming.NameNotFoundException: ejb/ProductFactoryLocalHome. Root exception is org.omg.CosNaming.NamingContextPackage.NotFound

I have tried all sorts of lookup paths:
    java:comp/env/ejb/ProductFactoryLocalHome
    ProductFactoryLocal
    ejb/ProductFactoryLocalHome
    etc
    etc
    etc

and none seem to work. All this was super easy with JBoss and just stopped working in WebSphere.

Threaded Messages (15)

2. Is there any furhter information I can supply that would help someone here think of what might be wrong?