Difference between local and remote calls

Discussions

EJB design: Difference between local and remote calls

1. Difference between local and remote calls (5 messages)

Hi guys,

I have several stateless EJB deployed on JBOSS, on the same machine.
    They use the remote interfaces to communicate.

I want to know if there is any benefit to use the local
    interfaces for communication between EJB on the same server,
    instead of the remote?

In particular, is there any gain in performance
    when the local interfaces are used for calls
    between EJB on the same server ??

Thank you
    Stan

Threaded Messages (5)

2. NonJboss help...[ Go to top ]

I have no experience with JBoss.... (just WebLogic). The point with local interfaces is performance. Instead of going the long way with home and remote interfaces the container heads more directly to the implementation. You lose the possibility to deploy some beans on another server which wouldnt matter much since you can do some clustering to get that kind of performance boost. (Dont know if JBoss is clusterable????) A good EJB container would know by itself when to use local and when to use remote interfaces, wouldnt it?
  3. Local Vs Remote Interfaces[ Go to top ]

Using local interfaces have some advantages compared to remote interfaces. These are:

1.Simpler programming model, no need to catch remote exceptions that can't happen in co-located deployment.

2.Since RemoteException is not needed on every method signature, your EJB business method's interface is independent of EJB. This can free callers from dependence on the EJB API.

3.As it is running in the same JVM and not in a distributed environment, although coded to call-by-value it is running with call-by-reference.

I hope this helps.

Fore more info on this check this.

htpp://www.tusc.com.au/tutorial/html/chap9.html

Vishal.
  4. Local Vs Remote Interfaces[ Go to top ]

Thanks a lot
  5. Hi,