Why JSP Tags and Struts Tags

Discussions

Web tier: servlets, JSP, Web frameworks: Why JSP Tags and Struts Tags

1. Why JSP Tags and Struts Tags (3 messages)

Hi All,

I am new to the Tags concept.Why sould we use Jsp Tags and struts tags when we can do the same with scriplets and expressions ?
    Please explain.

Thanks
    blazix

Threaded Messages (3)

2. Why JSP Tags and Struts Tags[ Go to top ]

Several reasons:

1) Tags are more "web developer friendly". A web developer will have an easier time learning tag logic than Java logic. You can sub-divide your working team: web developers produce your JSP using tag logic, HTML and Javascript, while your Java developers focus on servlets/Struts actions and business logic.

2) Tags are objects which can be maintained independently of you JSP page. They provide a good mechanism for modularizing your JSP logic, so different pieces can be maintained independently.

Suppose, for example, you application re-uses a "Product" object that needs to be loaded from the database. You could hard-code the load operation directly into your JSP:

<%
    Product product = // ... load product data
    %>

Or, you could put the logic in a custom tag:

<db:loadProduct />

If you use the custom tag approach, and your "load product" logic needs to change, you only need to update the custom tag handler rather than all the JSP. Without custom tags, the only way to modularize JSP is with includes, which is pretty weak.

3) The big disadvantage to custom tags is that they involve more up-front work than simple scripting, because you have to define all your tag handlers. The good news is, these days there are lots of pre-written tag libaries available on the web, so just use those.
  3. but stilll....?[ Go to top ]

Can you really say there is any JSP developer who does not have a Java background????...I think its really not much of an advantage

-sriram
  4. but stilll....?[ Go to top ]