Quick and Easy Object Persistence: pBeans + Groovy Beans

Discussions

News: Quick and Easy Object Persistence: pBeans + Groovy Beans

1. Michael Ivey writes about a quick and dirty object persistence scheme. It combines pBeans, a simple open source Java persistence framework, and Groovy. The combination gets him close to the laziness that he craves.
    I started my programming life in Perl, and I am a lazy programmer. I get frustrated when I have to write duplicate code, or put information in more than one place. I'll search the web for days, try sample applications in 10 different frameworks, and write hundreds of lines of test code to find a solution that saves me half an hour. Now that's lazy.

I've been looking at persistence layers and frameworks lately. I don't like having SQL in my objects, partially because it makes things more brittle, and partially because I don't like writing SQL anywhere. I just want to write classes and instantiate objects, manipulate them for a while, and then have them stick around. I don't really care about the database itself. (In fact, most of the time I don't need a database, that's just a simple way to store stuff.)

Prevayler-style in-memory storage is kind of cool, but it also places restrictions on how you structure your client classes. I don't want restrictions, I don't want extra work, and I don't want duplicated code or information. How do I do it?

pBeans is one way. It really is as simple as I was looking for. Make some Beans, tag them with implements Persistent, make a store, and then put objects in the store and take them out. No SQL (one exception; read on), no XML, no mapping files. Free as in speech. Currently works with MySQL, Postgres, and SQL Server, and should be fairly easy to get working on other databases.
    Read Quick and Easy Object Persistence: pBeans + Groovy Beans
  2. Interesting, especially after the complexity of using
    other frameworks.

Is there a way to use it in embedded database without