From a young developer - Ever feel overwhelmed?

Discussions

General J2EE: From a young developer - Ever feel overwhelmed?

1. Hi all,

I'm a fairly young J2EE developer (23 yrs old), just out of college so I'm still very much in a "learning" mode. I've been feeling very overwhelmed lately and I thought here would be a good place to post to see if anyone here has had similar experiences.

During the course of learning Java/J2EE, and working on little side projects to help you learn, do you / have you ever been overwhelmed with managing your time between writing code (which you enjoy) and doing other things as part of a healthy and "normal" life? I'm having that dilemma right now. I still live with my family at home (haven't moved out just yet), so I don't have all the responsibilities yet of someone with their own place. But I still sometmies get very overwhelmed and/or depressed, feeling like I neglect everything else by working on this stuff.

On the other hand, I don't want to stop altogether because I do enjoy it, like a hobby. But sometimes things don't get done because I spend so much time doing this! :-)

If anyone has experienced this in the past, do you have any advice you could offer to a budding young developer?

Thanks so much..

Joe

Threaded Messages (2)

2. Good Question ![ Go to top ]

Yes it's a question I asked myself many times some years ago. I think you should go on for now, and 'write code' while you're enjoying it. It's seems a little sacrifice on beginning of your life but the thing is that :
    - one day you will not enjoy it at all
    - this day, after some years of experience, it will be obvious and possible for you to change your job for something that will let you more time to have a "healthy and normal life".