Discussions

Web tier: servlets, JSP, Web frameworks: Swing vs. JSPs: looking for feedback

1. Swing vs. JSPs: looking for feedback (7 messages)

Just looking for some feedback for people that have used Swing and JSP in an enterprise-wide system.

We have a number of systems we are developing -- early stages. Many integrated applications. The particular application I am an architect on has the following attributes:

* Mission Critical, 365/24/7
    * Tens of Thousands of users and pc clients, also other potential clients (bar scanners, tablet pcs, pdas)
    * Enterprise-wide system that will reside at 100+ sites
    * Will be using J2EE for middleware and probably Hibernate to access back end to access very confidential and vital data

Some people want to use Swing for the front end, others traditional web application (jsp, html, etc.)

Can people give me the pros and cons of Swing and JSP in the above mentioned environment?

My experience in the Java/J2EE world has been traditional web/jsp/html/struts/n-tier design/programming (I was a Microsoft C and C++ engineer in a previous life).

Thanks for your help,
    John Curley

Threaded Messages (7)

2. The fact that you envision usage of different devices, points to having to build multiple front ends.

PDAs can access web apps. However, with the lack of screen real estate and factoring in the use of wireless technology, you will have to build a front end rendering tier based on what the incoming request is.

Swing may not be a good choice. If you use WEB front end technologies, you maybe able to reuse some code across the various rendering mechanisms.

In addition to the above, the cost of having J2EE Developers and SWING developers on the project, would, in all probability settle the dispute in favor of the web.

You have asked for pros and cons of Swing. I am sorry but I cannot find a case for SWING based on the project info you have given.