Performance: RMI vs JavaSpaces

Discussions

Performance and scalability: Performance: RMI vs JavaSpaces

1. Performance: RMI vs JavaSpaces (5 messages)

Hi, I'm new in making distributed applications using Java language.

My question is, which technology should I use: core RMI or JavaSpaces? The project, which I'm making is a simple real-time-strategy game engine. I'm looking for technology, which generate the lowest network traffic. In first phases of my project I was programming using sockets and my own protocol. But it was hard to extend the existing system. So, I've decided to use some higher-level technology like RMI or JavaSpaces (I guess, that EJB is not quite good option).

P.S. Sorry for my terrible english :)

Threaded Messages (5)

2. Performance: RMI vs JavaSpaces[ Go to top ]

Take a look at Coherence .. it provides advanced clustering for managing data, messaging, events, etc.

Peace,

Cameron Purdy
    Tangosol, Inc.
    Coherence: Shared Memories for J2EE Clusters
  3. Performance: RMI vs JavaSpaces[ Go to top ]

Having worked with RMI till it I throw up, I must say it has 2 sides:
    good: it is removing the protocol burden.
    bad: it requires some coding discipline, and is not a fast protocol (invocation stuff)

Having designed many protocols, and having worked with 1.1 applets also, I must say my favorite combination is simple value object serialization over socket.
    Serializing removes the burden of data transport. You just concentrate on the communication.

You use hashtable/vector (for 1.1 compatibility) of strings, wrappers, arrays of primitives, etc...
    Stay away from non-core objects (avoid your own serializable classes).

I like to write key-value pair in hashtable, because they make the protocol infinitely extensible. Make sure you toss in a version string, just in case.

And that's pretty much it!