Discussions

News: Securing Your Java Applications - Acegi Security Style

1. In a new Spotlight Feature, Javalobby hosts an article by Matthew Porter introducing the Acegi Security Framework - the new kid on the block in the Java security space. In this first of a two part series, Matthew discusses how to work with simple Authentication, Authentication Providers, and Authorization with Acegi and Spring. In part two, he will discuss how to use AOP and Acegi to secure your business objects. Check out Part 1 and leave Matthew some feedback!

Read part one of the article here.
  2. I've been working with Acegi for several months and am quite happy with it, especially since we're using it in a very granular way, down to object->property->value based entitlements. If you're looking in to a flexible and sophisticated security framework, especially if you're already using Spring, give Acegi a few hours' look. Just don't expect it (or any security framework) to be easy sailing at first unless your needs are very simple...
  3. Can you give a quick overview how based on a prinicpal determine access to a particular object instance attribute? Visibility, Read vs. Read/Write?
    Thanks
    -phil
  4. granularity down to instance level?[ Go to top ]

In Acegi Security we have an AclManager which can retrieve a list of AclEntry[]s for any Object. The general idea is you pass your domain Object to AclManager along with your Authentication and it will return just those ACL entries applicable for the principal and domain Object.