What's so special about PHP?

Discussions

EJB design: What's so special about PHP?

1. What's so special about PHP? (5 messages)

This is not supposed to be a flame, but I just keep wondering about this for some time and I wanted to hear other people's opinion too.

First of all I am a Java developer/fan I would love to use Java in all my projects.

But one thing that is bugging me is that when you visit various sites on the net, PHP-powered sites:
     - are much more numerous than Java-powered sites
     - overall the presentation looks nicer/more professional

Now the presentation certainly has nothing to do with PHP or Java. What is it then? I can think of two explanations so far:

1. PHP might have better frameworks/libraries (just an assumption, I'm not familiar with it)
    2. Java developers are more of the academic type concentrating more on design and elegant coding as opposed to (presumably) practical PHP developers that rather concentrate on the final result.

What do you think?

The straw that broke the camel back was when this morning I was looking through the sites listed on the Velocity site as Velocity-powered and about half of them switched to PHP.

Again, this is not a flame, I know there are nice Java-powered sites out there (I like netflix.com for instance) but when you look at the overall picture, the difference cannot be denied.

Threaded Messages (5)

2. It comes with Apache by default...[ Go to top ]

Its popularity has little to do with one technology being better than the other. PHP comes (by default most of the time) with Apache. It's easy to set up. Therefore, a LOT of hosting providers support it.

As for the polish of PHP sites, you're probably right. Java people are usually engineers. PHP people are usually web designers.

-Brian
  3. The Community[ Go to top ]

http://www.linuxworld.com/story/44251.htm

PHP Fastfood is even simpler than Perl Cafe and Java Hut.