You advise is needed - Practicing web tier patterns

Discussions

General J2EE: You advise is needed - Practicing web tier patterns

1. Hi,

I have read the first few chapters of 'Core J2EE Patterns' related to the web tire but did not do any coding to practice them. I tried the 'Adventure Builder' web application provided by the blueprints team, but it depends on the WAF which I am not familiar with. I have no experience with Struts but I have been using JSP and Servlets for the last year and a half in which I used the MVC architecture for development. Can anyone guide to the proper direction to practice the patters.

Thanks,

Basel Mahdi
  2. There's nothing better than writing your own web-app from scratch, in an incremental fashion, appling the patterns as you go along. Perhaps one pattern for each interaction?

Regards,
    Martin
  3. Thank you Martin for you reply.

Does that mean frameworks such as Struts and JSF implement part of the patterns?

Thanks,

Basel Mahdi
  4. Hmm... Struts is an implementation of MVC for webapps. JSF, I couldn't say. I never cross-analized Sun's J2EE core patterns versus Struts or JSF, actually.
  5. IMO Struts and JSF are very similar and both use the MVC.

IMO the JSF is the future, so I would suggest you to:
    - try to develop some small app with the JSF
    - try SUN's JAVA creator - IMO fastest way, how to write the web tier
  6. JSF is the future

I guess you bought a bunch on Sun's stocks, right? I mean, to make such a statement on a subject so uncertain as the future.
    ;)

Regards,
    Martin
  7. 1) well, it is my opinion ("IMO"). I do not say it will happen ...

2) JSF are implemented now by SUN, IBM, Oracle and some OS group

3) 3 above mentioned companies are preparing IDEs or they have them already