Struts and the Old EJB Question

Discussions

EJB design: Struts and the Old EJB Question

1. Struts and the Old EJB Question (10 messages)

Hi,
    I am relatively new to EJB development - however, the question I am asking is an age-old question, I guess.

My project is in a stage where we are making decision on whether to use EJBs or not and we are evaluating the following options.

1. Implementing a Session Facade with Entity Beans for data updates and DAO for data retrieval.
    2. Implementing a session facade and using just DAOs for both updates as well as retrieval - thus doing away with using Entity Beans

The application we are developing has the following requirements/features -

1. Medium sized database with complex transactional logic (multiple table updates are very regular)
    2. Data retrieval logic for large chunks of data with paging

We have decided to use the Struts framework for our Controller tier.

Any advice on this - weighing the two options or even suggesting a new one - would be greatly appreciated. I am also looking for some general knowledge/trends when it comes to using Entity Beans since my experience is limited.

Of particular concerns is the much talked about "performance overheads". And I am weighing it against the transaction management features of the EJB container.

Looking forward to your advice/opinions. I would be happy to answer more questions about my applications if you want to go into the specifics.

Thanks!

Threaded Messages (10)

2. Struts and the Old EJB Question[ Go to top ]

The bottom line i think is whether you want to make use of Entity beans and various features that are provided by the container or you want to write a lot transactional logic in the DAOs. You could go either way. If your database is modelled well, try using entity beans and then later you can configure the optimal pool settings etc.

-sri