Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: JBoss ejb making remote calls to BEA bean

1. JBoss ejb making remote calls to BEA bean (6 messages)

I have 2 ejb beans, one is deployed in BEA weblogic 8.1 and the other one is deployed in JBoss 3.2.6
    I want to modify my bean deployed in JBoss to be able to make call(s) to bean deployed in BEA.
    I am new to EJB programming, so I am not sure if it is possible to achieve this.
    Thanks for the help.

Threaded Messages (6)

2. Yes[ Go to top ]

Any java process can be an EJB client, including other EJBs running in any server, as long as it can do a remote JNDI lookup and the EJB you want to call has a remote interface.

You need to get a reference to your WL Bean using from the Weblogic JNDI tree:

p.put("java.naming.factory.initial", "weblogic.jndi.WLInitialContextFactory");
    p.put("java.naming.provider.url", "t3://localhost:7110");
    etc.

So your JBoss bean needs wlclient.jar in its classpath, so it can create weblogic.jndi.WLInitialContextFactory and get access to the EJBs.
  3. Yes[ Go to top ]

Thanks Adrian for the response.
    I tried to add wlclient.jar to jboss but it fails complaining of classcastexception, because it has both the namingFactories (Jboss and WebLogic).
    Where should I put my wlclient.jar to avoid this classCastException.
    My problem is if i put wlclient.jar in jboss classpath, Jboss does not loads, as it also has it's NamingFactory.

If i do not put wlclient.jar in Jboss classpath I get following error when i try to reference Weblogic bean from Jboss Bean.

javax.naming.NoInitialContextException: Cannot instantiate class: weblogic.jndi.WLInitialContextFactory [Root exception is java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: No ClassLoaders found for: weblogic.jndi.WLInitialContextFactory]

Thanks in advance.
  4. Yes[ Go to top ]