Desperately need help

Discussions

XML & Web services: Desperately need help

1. Desperately need help (4 messages)

I'm totally new to Web Services. In just about 2 days time, i HAVE TO create a web service of a company which will consume 3 web services (which is in my Uni's server). I've got da locations of those web services. 1 is a payment processing, 2 others are products & stocks etc of 2 clothing companies.

I'm totally confused as to where & when we should consume web service....when & where da XML codes should be in. Altogether, da site i hav to build, is it actually a web service itself?

Can anybody help by describing to me - Functionally & code wise, how does everything flow? Thanx in advance

Threaded Messages (4)

2. Desperately need help[ Go to top ]

Hi Wong,

If you only have to consume web services, then thats a plus, because its much simpler than serving web services.

I would first recommend that you get familiar with WSDLs. Try the http://www.w3schools.com/ for their tutorials.

Now try to get the WSDLs of the Web Services that you have to consume. Now get familiar with libraries like Jax-RPC or Apache's Axis, because these can generate all the code necessary to invoke a Web Services. They both have a WSDL-To-Java converters.

Once you have the java code, test that it is actually calling the web service (use the TCP monitor from AXIS) to see the XML messages being passed.

Hope this helps,

Regards,

Saqib

http://galaxy.sagadc.com
    - Web Services in 15 Minutes -
  3. Desperately need help[ Go to top ]

Apart from consuming Web Services individually, from your description it looks like you can also create a Business Process out of the 3 Web Services (Payment, products ,stocks).

You can use BPEL (which allows to build business processes from a set of discrete services) to build the business process flow.