How to become a sr Java & J2EE engineer

Discussions

General J2EE: How to become a sr Java & J2EE engineer

1. How to become a sr Java & J2EE engineer (9 messages)

Hi I am a recent grad and have been working full time w/Java & J2EE for about 1 and 1/2yrs now after. I absolutely love the language and I want to grow very quickly in this field and become very good at it. I need some expert advice from all of you who have made it in this industry. What are some of the things I can do to master my command of the language as quickly as possible and what are the things I need to know. I appreciate all your comments.
  2. Funny how now one has responded to this thread considering the fact that Java developers and the community are allways willing to help and have great resource and tools for learning.

I am sorely disappointed w/the server side. I guess this is not the premier J2EE resource site. Thanks for nothing.
  3. well perhaps the reason no one responded originally was because everyone had read your other thread "Why should i bother to learn EJB." I believe it was you that said "Sun clean up your act, get rid of EJB before dot net takes over Java's market share?"

I can tell you immediatly...approaching threads here on TSS with this mentality is NOT going to help you become a senior J2EE engineer. Id say mastering anything requires patience, hard work and open-mindedness.....3 things you have already demonstrated you dont have.

Step 1 in becoming a J2EE engineer: Stop bashing the people you are also trying to get help from.
  4. first, there's no need to be mean because people didn't tell you how to be an overnight expert.
    it sounds like a get rich quick goal. that said, I've been in the field for about 2 years and am far beyond that as a senior developer where I work. how'd I do it? simple - work.
    1. read. download e-books from manning and read them. thoroughtly. work the examples.