EJB instance problem

Discussions

General J2EE: EJB instance problem

1. EJB instance problem (2 messages)

Hi, everybody,
    I am studying Bruce Eckel`s book -- Thinking in Enterprise Java. In the Chapter Enterprise JavaBeans, there is one sentence that I cannot understand:

Original paragraph:

Enterprise JavaBeans (EJB) are managed, server-side components for the modular construction of enterprise applications[7].

We’ll start our tour of Enterprise JavaBeans by exploring the meaning of these three words.

“Component” means that EJBs are distributed in binary format and are configurable, so that the client programmer can use them to create custom applications. It’s the same concept that you see with a JavaBean graphical component: you buy a JavaBean component to create pie chart graphs, you instantiate it in your application (probably using a RAD tool such as JBuilder), you set the component’s properties to your liking (for example the background color), and you use it in your reporting application. You don’t have the source code for the pie chart component, nonetheless you can customize it to your needs. The way you instantiate, customize and use Enterprise JavaBeans is not the same as with plain JavaBeans, but the concept of being a component is the same. It’s important to make a terminological distinction between the component and its instances: we use the term Enterprise JavaBean to refer to a type of component – for example an EJB that represents a bank account; and we use the term EJB instance to refer to an object that represents a specific bank account with a unique account number.