Discussions

EJB design: Use Struts + Hibernate for a simple web app?

1. Use Struts + Hibernate for a simple web app? (8 messages)

Hello.

I'm building a simple web app (~20 screens; ~10 tables in a single database). After looking at frameworks such as Struts, Spring, Hivemind, for building the app and Hibernate, JDO, etc. for the persistence layer, I've decided to go with Struts + Hibernate (and POJOs for the business objects).

QUESTION: Is this a good choice?

My reason for Struts versus Spring is that it will be easier to find talent for maintenance of the system and Struts is already being used on other projects currently (where I work). I'm a consultant, so I want to leave behind code that is easy to maintain and/or find talent for (again, picked Struts for that reason).

As for Hibernate versus JDO, it appears this is a much discussed topic but Hibernate appears easier to use (to me, personally) and the fact that it is associated with EJB 3.0, gives me some warm-and-fuzzy that it'll be around.

To summarize, my objectives are:
    1. Keep things simple for quick development (less learning curve)

2. Use lightweight stuff (i.e. no EJBs, no heavy framework)

3. Make maintainability (ie. use industry standard stuff that you can find talent for easily such as standard J2EE, Struts, log4j, etc.)

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Threaded Messages (8)

2. In my opinion, this can quite certainly be a good choice for your requirements. However, that assumes that your application's business requirements are easily expressed in an object oriented fashion. If you are looking at a legacy database or a database that does not lend itself well to object-oriented concepts, you may want to look at a framework such as iBATIS for your persistence layer.