Use Struts + Hibernate for a simple web app? (only POJOs)

Discussions

Web tier: servlets, JSP, Web frameworks: Use Struts + Hibernate for a simple web app? (only POJOs)

1. Hello.

I'm building a simple web app (~20 screens; ~10 tables in a single database). After looking at frameworks such as Struts, Spring, Hivemind, for building the app and Hibernate, JDO, etc. for the persistence layer, I've decided to go with Struts + Hibernate (and POJOs for the business objects).

QUESTION: Is this a good choice?

My reason for Struts versus Spring is that it will be easier to find talent for maintenance of the system and Struts is already being used on other projects currently (where I work). I'm a consultant, so I want to leave behind code that is easy to maintain and/or find talent for (again, picked Struts for that reason).

As for Hibernate versus JDO, it appears this is a much discussed topic but Hibernate appears easier to use (to me, personally) and the fact that it is associated with EJB 3.0, gives me some warm-and-fuzzy that it'll be around.

To summarize, my objectives are:
    1. Keep things simple for quick development (less learning curve)

2. Use lightweight stuff (i.e. no EJBs, no heavy framework)

3. Make maintainability (ie. use industry standard stuff that you can find talent for easily such as standard J2EE, Struts, log4j, etc.)

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Threaded Messages (11)

2. It sounds fine to me. While some people say that Struts is old news, it still works fine for today and as you pointed out the current talent pool there can work with it.

If you are going to use an O/R framework then hibernate is a pretty good way to go. Your clients shouldn't have any trouble finding people with struts/hibernate experience to maintain your app.