Discussions

General J2EE: Dependency Injection - Best Practice for a newbie ?

1. Im new to the concept of DI and have a question on best practice. I'll try and explain with the temparature sensor example

So if I have 3 different temp sensor applications exposed through the same interface, I know that I can deploy the same app to all 3 of these seperate entities and then wire up the correct implementation of that interface via configuration files. All well and good. DI doing what it;s designed too I guess

However lets assume that these apps are on 2 servers each and it's decided that all 3 apps should be hosted on one larger cluster for performance/availability/load balancing etc. Now we have a case where the right implemenation has to be chosen from an attribute (lets assume we have an MDB that gets XML off a JMS queue and decides which sensor to invoke). Now in this case to use DI Im guessing we have to wire up the config with some 'rules' to make this decision. Is this viable?

In this instance, is it best practice to house this sort of logic in DI or put the logic in code (i.e a service locator or just hardcoded as if statements in the MDB .. does it matter?)

I guess im trying to understand how much this concept can be valid? Were building an inbound interface with similar requirements and im wondering whether to suggest we use Spring to inject which impmentation of a common handler to invoke based on an attribute of the inbound service call

TIA !
  2. Dependency Injection - Best Practice for a newbie ?