Can an SessionBean Method return another SessionBean?

Discussions

EJB programming & troubleshooting: Can an SessionBean Method return another SessionBean?

1. Hello,

I am new to EJB programming.

I want to ask you if it is possible to return a SessionBean from a method of another SessionBean.

Specificallly, There is an article about creating a JDBC driver with rmi in www.javaword.com (http://www.javaworld.com/javaworld/jw-05-2002/jw-0517-jdbcdriver.html)
    The client jdbc driver communicate with the database through a middle tier jdbc driver.

I want to implement the same thing but with EJBs.

Thank you in advance, Kostas
  2. First of all, clients never have references to SessionBeans. They deal with EJB Home stubs and SessionBeans stubs.
    As I remember, only EJBHome stubs can be freely passed within applications. SessionBeans can always be created
    using Homes
  3. why would you do that? is your session bean method that returns another session bean some kind of a factory? in this case I'd rather advise you to return the home's JNDI name and let the caller use a service locator pattern implementation to obtain the stub.