Java Objects in Multi-threaded Environment

Discussions

Performance and scalability: Java Objects in Multi-threaded Environment

1. Java Objects in Multi-threaded Environment (13 messages)

I am a java developer with more than 6 year of experience but still I am frequently haunted by some pretty basic questions about thread safely. I am having trouble with the following

1. I need to know how the private variables are handled in a multi-threading enviroment. Let me explain..

Suppose I have a class that has private attributes and public methods. When I create objects of this class (with new XXXX..) , in different threads ( like what happens when you have Value Object pattern and in a web application or when you create instances of classes to store details exclusively for the current user during the execution life time.) , are the instance variables are thread safe? Is it that JVM creates deep copies of instance variables and put in different stacks for different objects and the master copy in heap is not touched ? I am little confused on these ... may be I am getting over causious about thread safety..

2. How the static objects/methods are handled in a multythreaded environment? Does the JVM maintain locks and only one thread is allowed at a given time? (make it a single threaded case)

Any help in understanding these issues is greately appreciated.
  2. Hi,
      Answering your first question :
       Thread safety for instance variables come into picture only when the same instance is accessed by many threads. Typical example would be a singleton instance accessed by many threads . In this case to make the instance variables thread safety they should be mutated through synchronized methods . For other cases where every thread creates a new instance there is no question of thread safety .