Discussions

EJB design: Urgent: Many to Many Relationship

1. Urgent: Many to Many Relationship (5 messages)

Hello....
    Pls guide me on how to model many to many relationship for entity beans. Here's the scenario....

1. A project has a list of consultants.
    2. A consultant can be a member of one or more projects.

How do you model this in EJB?

Your comments will be very much appreciated. Thanks.

Jerson
  2. Ok I am new to EJB but my answer would be (this asumes ejb1.1)
    1)have the consultant entity bean have a vector that would contain a reference to all related project beans.
    2)when the consultant bean is loaded have it retrieve a list of all project primary keys that this consultant belongs to and store it in the vector.
    2)use lazy loading for the policy beans to replace the primary keys stored in the vector with entity beans on a as needed basis.(I think there is a pattern here on Lazy Loading).
    3)project bean will also contain a vector that will be used to track consultants in the exact same way mentioned above.
    Hope this makes sense
    Jeff
  3. Thanks you very much Jeff...
    Hmmm... That's actually what I'm also thinking. I saw something like that in the pet store example and in Richard Monson-Haefel book but the examples are for one to many relationship so I wasn't sure if i can also do this for many to many relationship.

Another thing, what's your opinion on using finder method? like using findbyConsultant in Project which returns a collection of project and same goes with consultant where you have findByProject. In this design, we don't actually have association between the two entities instead we query the list of projects and list of consultants. So when do we use finder method or use association in order?

I think for our case. Your solution is much appropriate.

Other alternatives are still welcome...

Thanks....

Jerson
  4. Urgent: Many to Many Relationship[ Go to top ]

Hi Jerson,