Performance of the Spring Framework - in concern

Discussions

Performance and scalability: Performance of the Spring Framework - in concern

1. I am looking for your opinion on performances of the Spring Framework. I am new to the Spring and, being also naïve, have suggested that this framework should not change Best Practices in the application design. My colleagues have told me that I am wrong. In my system, I have multiple threads each of which performs the same operation on different data including a) storing data in the database, and b) sending notification message via a MOM system (not necessary via JMX). Since the data is highly important, I suggested that each thread has to perform individual unit of work and independently communicate with DB and MOM in spite of the performance hit for the thread caused by the re-connecting to the DB and MOM. In my case, access to DB and MOM is single-threaded. So, the alternative solution based on sharing of the single connection to DB and MOM respectively was proposed on the basis that Spring Framework is too slow in injection and instantiation of the connection objects. The risk of loosing everything if next communication hangs and risk of global performance hit caused by sequential data transmission (obvious bottleneck), were considered less risky than performance degradation caused by the Spring Framework. It is hard to believe in that but I do not have a chance to really measure comparative performances. Please, share your experience with regards to that matter with me. Sincerely, - Michael Poulin