Discussions

News: What's better with SOA?

1. What's better with SOA? (97 messages)

James Robertson pointed out Cote's quote about SOA: "What makes 'SOA' different than 'programming'?" It's worth asking. What makes SOA so desirable that people flock to it? Is it really an improvement? The full quote is a little more involved:
    Long ago, when I was working at The Cobalt Group as a young J2EE developer, my pal JP schooled me on the idea of building your code as a series of services. It made complete sense, at a code-monkey level, and was great for both the technology and (more importantly) the way you could run the organization. Somewhere along the lines, the architectural simplicity that JP outlined for me, an early understanding of "SOA," was widened to mean "whatever (enterprise) software we're currently selling." And that, is the "vendor [crap]" that Bray mentions above. Increasingly, I find that large vendors use SOA to describe whatever it is they have and are selling. Under the covers, sure, it may be that services-based, distributed, HTTP/XML (or events/ESB) system, but at the marketing level, it's a bit more, as I said, "hijacked." The question I've started asking when I hear a story about how much better a customer's IT-scape is doing because it's now got "SOA Inside!" is "compared to what?" That is, what were the alternatives? The snarky, between the lines question being, "what makes 'SOA' different than 'programming'"?
    So what about it? What defines SOA, and what really makes it better?

Threaded Messages (97)

2. Re: What's better with SOA?[ Go to top ]