Discussions

News: Two Questions About the Term "JDK"

1. Two Questions About the Term "JDK" (24 messages)

As a Java programmer, I'm used to thinking that there are two kinds of distributions of Java SE. First there is the JRE (Java Runtime Environment), which is the bare-minimum platform distribution of the virtual machine and class library (for the most part), and second, there's the JDK (Java Development Kit) a riff on the age-old standard term-of-art "SDK", where the JDK is a JRE plus common tools. I asked this question in my blog, but since no one reads it, I didn't get too many answers. :) So I'd like to ask the TSS community the same two simple questions:
    1. Do you use "JDK" is a common term to describe the JRE + 'standard' tools?
    2. Do you expect that you can get a JDK from any vendor, such as IBM, BEA, Sun, Apple?

Threaded Messages (24)

2. 1 - yes 2 - yes
  3. Yes/No[ Go to top ]

Yes. But to be more precise, JDK is JRE + JavaC/JavaP for me (I don't use other tools (directly, say, from console), but I guess my IDE use them) No. Why should I think of other verdors if there is Sun? The JDK is free of charge, thats enought to me. I don't meet any other reasons except the price/availability/stability. Sun can give me that. Why would I (a regular developer) use IBM's or BEA's JDKs?
  4. Re: Yes/No[ Go to top ]

Why would I (a regular developer) use IBM's or BEA's JDKs?
    Different JVMs have different properties. I don't know if this is still the case, but IBM's VMs used to have much better performance than Sun's in some cases, so when I was looking at numeric work, I would use IBM's product.
  5. Re: Yes/No[ Go to top ]

Different JVMs have different properties. I don't know if this is still the case, but IBM's VMs used to have much better performance than Sun's in some cases, so when I was looking at numeric work, I would use IBM's product.
    Why only numeric? Don't you want your other stuff to be fast too? :)
  6. Re: Yes/No[ Go to top ]