Discussions

News: Presentation: Bruce Johnson, on Google Web Toolkit

1. Bruce Johnson, Google Web Toolkit's tech lead, gave this presentation at the Ajax Experience. In it, he discusses the rationale behind GWT and some of the ideas that went into building it, and what you can expect while using it. Discussing why GWT came into being, Bruce offered this somewhat-fictitious first-person account:
    So, I am an engineer in a web development shop that has the process down pat. We use Struts and Java, and we have got unit tests and good engineering practices. We have the development process down pat pretty much in control. But then there is this one feature where we need a little JavaScript to do some fancy stuff on the clients. So, the Product Manager comes in and makes the pitch for adding just a little JavaScript, and we say, 'All right, why not? I will do that.' I learned JavaScript a bit. I add the feature. My boss loves it. The customers seem to like it. The Product Manager is happy. It is something kind of fun to learn something new, right? The salespeople like it too, and that is sort of a double-edged sword, because before you know it, there... you can hear the situation in your head right there talking to the customer, "Oh yeah, sure, we have got a bunch of AJAX queries back in engineering. Whatever you want, we will do that feature. No problem." So, before you know it, your nice, clean, well-engineered development process has turned you into an AJAX shop. So, what does that mean? Well, it means three months later, the salespeople come to you and say, "Oh, by the way, we have got a prospect, and they do not want to run Internet Explorer because of security concerns, so just go ahead and port that to Firefox, okay?" So, you do that and it was painful, and then three months later they come back and say, "Oh, and there is this other prospect, and they are a Mac shop. So, we need to support Safari, just kind of go and do that, okay?" And so before you know it,