Discussions

EJB design: Basic EJB.

1. Basic EJB. (4 messages)

Hi,

I am new to EJBs and I have some baisc questions :

1. I understand EJB uses some of RMI concepts. then why is that in RMI we write only one interface and in EJB we have two?

2. Who is responsible for creating the EJB object? The home interface or the container??
     can you explain the basic functionality flow of EJBs

3. when the Home object gets a reference to the EJB object where is its refernce stored is it in the heap?? If so why???

Thanks,
    Bincy

Threaded Messages (4)

2. Basic EJB.[ Go to top ]

The questions to anser is quite easy, but I'd suggest you really read something more about EJB:

1.) The Remote interface is equivalent (it is not the same, because it is not implemented by the bean) to your RMI interface, but the Home interface acts as a factory and is thus a different object seen from the client (an object-factory for the remote-objects).

2.) The container creates the EJB object; You create three interfaces/classes, "R" (remote), "H" (home) and "B" (bean), where B contains the functionalitiy that would be necessary to implement R and H.
    The container now generates "intermediary" classes, it is up to the container how it does this but most do something like create a remote object which implements home interface and one which implements the remote interface. Some methods implemented in this interface simply delegate to the bean's implementation, so the "diagram" would look like:
    R<--RO->-B
    H<--HO->-|
    where --> means implements/inherits and ->- means "method call"; RO=RemoteObject, HO=HomeObject, both container generated.
    Comment: For entity bean CMP it is no different: the container generates "mediator" classes, "container"-classes, and is thus called "container" :-)