Discussions

News: Simpl Web: Another d#%@ full stack Java web framework, but why?

1. What I see in the Java world is that there are way too many (web) frameworks out there, and most of them are hardly ever used! There could be more Java web frameworks than websites built with them. So, why another web framework? Because I'm a Java developer and really enjoyed developing this web framework! It was fun! And it's not that difficult either. It was built in just a few days! In fact it's more fun to build a web framework, than building a website. But what kind of a reason is that huh? Well… I'm just being honest. But what's a website anyway? Handle some pages, handle some user input, show some stuff back to the user, handle page flow and put some security around it. Format it nicely using html and css (things that most Java programmers even don't) and do some cool effects using Javascript. In fact, you simply don't have to be an amazingly skilled Java developer to develop these kinds of things! Every basic developer can build these simple things. And even hobbyists that don't have any ICT background can hack their websites into PHP without frameworks. It's simply not rocket science! And this is what IMHO goes wrong I'm positive that there are lots of very talented Java developers and architects. Developers that like to think of complex architectures, design patterns, algorithms, and really use them into their code! And as far as what I've seen in my career, that's exactly what they're doing when building simple websites! A website suddenly becomes d#%@ utterly complex. We have to configure our guts out in loads of different types of xml's, just in case something might ever change in the future. We're trying to get multiple Java frameworks to be tied together for just basic tasks (e.g. put a record in a table). We're struggling our ways into web logic because we or some architect before us over engineered it by building architectures on top of it. We have to fix a lot of