IxoraRMS - open source monitoring tool

Discussions

News: IxoraRMS - open source monitoring tool

1. IxoraRMS - open source monitoring tool (9 messages)

IxoraRMS is a tool for gathering and visualizing monitoring data. It was developed in Java and has a Swing GUI. I work in a performance lab and I needed a tool with the following characteristics:
    • quick to deploy
    • able to provide rich amounts of monitoring data
    • able to automatically update the customized data views when the topology changes
    • able to provide updates in almost real time
    • and able to customize the following aspects by writing none or very little code:
      • adding new monitoring agents
      • data visualization
      • adding complex reactions to trigger notifications and tuning/configuration advice
    I have been using the tool for a few years now (it was started in late 2003) and it proved very useful, especially as we tend to work with the latest pieces of technology which almost invariably come with the most basics of monitoring utilities. You can download the tool from ixorarms.com.

Threaded Messages (9)

2. Looks very slick[ Go to top ]

I have checked the project and it looks very professional; respect. I have a few questions: -How easy is it to create custom agents? -Can the measured information be persisted? -Is it possible to compare information (so comparing the performance of 2 different days) in a single graph? Peter Veentjer http://multiverse.googlecode.com
  3. Thanks[ Go to top ]

How easy is it to create custom agents?
    It is very easy to create custom agents that take data from a process output or a database(no coding required). You can also write simple Java code to feed data to a custom agent or write the agent from scratch using the development API. See the "Custom monitoring" section in the documentation for more details.
    Can the measured information be persisted?
    Yes, in a log file (XML format).