Discussions

News: The backlash against the data grid JSR and JCP reform

1. The recent backlash against Red Hat's data grid JSR proposal sparked an interest as I know the JCP is going under reform right now.

For those of you who have missed the debates, here's some background reading for you: 

So, here are my thoughts on the subject!

Technical merits

On technical merit the JSR proposal certainly seems sound enough to be a solid starting point for discussion (I'm no expert mind you).

Open standards are good

It's a laudable goal to standardise this space, and Red Hat have got 
    my support on that front. Just like vendor lock-in was bad for databases and app servers, it's also bad for developers and users of data grids.

This area is potentially worth Billions and so I can understand why some vendors may be reluctant to form an open std around it, but really, it's a good thing! I believe the vendors should be competing on performance and other factors, not basic get and put type API calls.

Where the proposal went wrong

Politically, Red Hat went about this in an unusual way, hence the backlash. Sadly, that sort of backlash can be enough to sink a JSR before it even sets sail.

I was a surprised that an organisation with so much JCP experience presented this JSR without the usual pre-collaboration that typically goes on in these cases. So I dug a little deeper to find out why Red Hat had gone about it this way.

The root cause

Without knowing all of the ins and outs, the new data grid JSR was proposed partly because of Red Hat's frustration with trying to get JSR-107 (data caching) back to an active state (it's been an inactive JSR for some time).

A std caching API (JSR-107) would be a natural base for any agreements around standardising any further data grid APIs on top of that.

Red Hat (and others?) had tried to re-vitalise the JSR-107 Expert Group to get