Discussions

News: Job function or job title: Which one do you go by?

1. Job function or job title: Which one do you go by?
    By Jason Tee

When I get asked about what I do for a living, I simply say that I am a software developer. Most folks, if not all, follow up with “So you’re in to computers then?” I say “Well, not exactly.” I go on to explain what I do in lay terms and most walk away with the impression that I do “computer stuff.” My family also thinks I’m a computer troubleshooting guru and often calls me for technical support with their home computer problems.

Which leads me to a simple question: When asked about your job as a Java developer, what do you respond with? Your job function? Your fancy job title? The 2012 TSS Java Trends survey has some interesting data regarding these very questions.

Within the Java community, the phrase “Java developer” has a variety of meanings, from entry level Java code testers, to experienced Java development project managers, to software architects that specialize in Java, to software vendors that provide business or consumer software created with Java. When asked which title best describes their job function, 40% of respondents said that they were in application development management or staff. Probably not what you would respond with when asked by new acquaintances.

But when asked about their respective job titles, the data shows that most identify themselves as an “architect,” which is even more confusing to explain to friends and family. Architects design buildings right? 14% responded as architects with “senior software engineer” a close second with 13%. The category of “Other, please specify,” which in my view would be easier to explain to my mom, came in at 8%.